“Rebranding Addiction”

I recently read a blog by Hip Sobriety dated Dec 2 titled, “How to Fix the Addiction Epidemic through Rebranding and Social Proof”.  It moved me.  I found this particular blog on Facebook because of the Sober Senorita.  So many great bloggers and wonderful women who share their stories out there.  Bless them 🙂

The blog talked about how we come out of our closets and “how do we own this part of us in a way that doesn’t give in to the stigma and cost us our jobs or reputations.”   Also she goes on to talk about how hard it is to say “I’m an alcoholic” and feel empowered by saying it out loud.  Doesn’t happen.  We feel empowered because we don’t use or drink.

The Social Proof she talks about is like people wearing stickers that say “I Voted!” or the LiveStrong bracelets or Movember. Everyone is involved in a movement.  Well, so are we.  I want to be out there letting others know that sobriety is possible and it’s okay to be a Teetotaler. One of the lines in her blog says, “Maybe the whole lot of us could get on board with calling ourselves something that reflected not a disease or a condition, but a proud choice that we’ve made…..And maybe one day there will be so many of us that are doing this out loud that – just like the cancer people – we won’t lose our jobs for it, or our reputations, or be called the many things they call us now.”

And with all that said, it convinced me to get it out there.  Make a commitment to myself, make a commitment to others to be open with what has/is happening on my road to recovery, and share where I can to educate those who just don’t understand or need help.

That being said, I am proud to be a part of the movement 🙂

teetotaler

My Teetotaler tattoo.  I may throw in a 16 in the upper right corner for the year I got sober, but that’s for another day.

So thank you Sober Senorita and Hip Sobriety for getting the information to me.  I feel empowered already because I am a TEETOTALER 🙂

Read the entire blog here:  http://www.hipsobriety.com/home/2016/12/2/teetotalism-rebranding-addiction

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Rebranding Addiction”

  1. ainsobriety says:

    Awesome tattoo. It is a movement. We are the lucky ones. We choose to live with open eyes!

  2. Brave lady. I think I’d have to use permanent marker. Proud of you Deb. Happy New You!
    Sharon

  3. Go you!
    I still don’t have a tattoo!
    xo
    Wendy

  4. Bren Murphy says:

    You are brave, beautiful and beyond booze – celebrate yourself!

Leave a Reply

