memory lane

I am closing in on 9 months sober this time around.  And it still has its rough spots. That witching hour is just the worst.  Really.  It started again full force about 2 weeks ago. I’m assuming it’s because I’m currently under lots of stress.  Self inflicted stress but stress nonetheless.  It’s a grin and bear it – almost white knuckle – situation. That 4pm to 7pm just sucks.  Hate it, hate it.

Because of this sudden turn of events, I decided to go back in my posts to what 9 months was like the last time I did this  it’s still cyclical. . .  It’s like deja vu.  Same stuff different day.

Knowing that for me, this is “normal”, and knowing that I will get through it no worse for wear gives me hope.  So a thanks to myself for blogging what I was feeling back then as it has come back to help me this time 🙂

Namaste

keep going

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to memory lane

  1. jmcraig2014 says:

    Keep going! Just recognizing that it is a pattern will get you through. Drink lots of seltzer or tea or and have a snack or a walk.
    Good luck

  2. Hi Deb!
    I am sorry it’s been hard for you these last couple weeks.
    I know when I have an urge, I tell myself …oh this is nothing new..I know this thought and it will pass!
    xo
    Wendy

  3. ainsobriety says:

    Hug
    Can you do something during that time?
    Put on a guided meditation and veg?
    Bubble bath?
    Fancy tea?

    Make this time something new.

    • Debbie says:

      Good ideas. It’s usually while I’m still at work or on the bus headed home 😦 Definitely need to think of a way to distract my thoughts. {hugs back at ‘cha}

  4. Hang in there! I remember doing a project around those hours. I would start to paint a room or rearrange furniture, clean out drawers or closets. For me busy hands kept my mind off drinking.
    Your doing great, keep it up.
    Sharon

  5. Ginger Groundhog says:

    And kudos to you for blogging about it here for us to read. Approaching 5 months myself and seemingly gliding along it is good to know in advance I might get hit with new waves of craving. Always love to read your posts. Hope the new grand baby is doing well.

    • Debbie says:

      Thanks GG 🙂 The new baby is doing great. I got to spend my BD with my 2 kids, their spouses and the 4 youngest grandkids. It was wonderful 🙂 Congrats on approaching 6 months now!

  6. You got this. I don’t know if you participate in any type of meetings, but for me having some support from other alcoholics during that “witching hour”was crucial. Eventually your body and mind will get used to it. It just takes time. Namaste

  7. I am so glad you are keeping sober. I enjoyed reading this post of yours. Well written 😊😊

Leave a Reply

