time to wean myself off the sugar

As we all know, when you first quit drinking, you find yourself attracted to sugar – more than normal anyway.  Well, at least I did.  I was replacing one sugar with another to avoid drinking.  It worked for me the last time I quit.  But, I was going on 500 days and was still continuing to eat a candy bar, a Blizzard, a bowl of ice cream or something sweet EVERY SINGLE NIGHT.  I am not kidding.  Plus, during the days I would find myself reaching in to the M&M peanut jar we have at work and eating a handful of those daily.  Trading one problem with another?  Yeah, no doubt!!

This time around, I’m doing the exact same thing.  About 8:00pm last night, I was going to have a bowl of ice cream, but – long story short – the ice cream was no longer good (don’t put ice cream that has been in the refrigerator over night BACK into the freezer).  So I found myself grabbing my car keys and purse, backing out of the driveway and heading to Dairy Queen for my usual Butterfinger Blizzard.  It’s ridiculously expensive, but I do it any way.

On the way home, that’s when I decided that I really needed to curb my sugar intake. It is totally out of control.  So today is day 1.  This is going to be a weaning process.  I don’t relish the idea of going cold turkey right at this moment.  But, I am setting it in motion and will begin paying attention to what and how much sugar I’m putting in my mouth.

I can do this.  It’s more psychological than anything else. Well, maybe a little has to do with the fact that sugar is addictive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to time to wean myself off the sugar

  1. sillymelove says:

    Have you ever tried using “all natural” sweetener called STEVIA? It does not have an after taste like any of the “artificial” sweeteners do. (LINK: http://www.stevia.com/) If you need a sugar fix you can take a teaspoon and put it on your tongue and it will cure it immediately!!! Also, instead of regular “ice cream” try SO DELICIOUS Unsweetened vanilla or chocolate … it’s way less calories and hardly any sugar… here’s a link: http://sodeliciousdairyfree.com/products … I personally never eat “real sugar” I haven’t for so long that it doesn’t appeal to me… like cake or cookies anything …. if I do crave cookies, I make them with oatmeal, peanut butter, soy milk, rice protein, stevia… and they are yummy! Good luck 🙂

  2. Hi Debbie!
    I find sugar and salt are problems for me, especially salt.
    Once I eat some chips, or pizza, I can’t stop. I want more and more.
    So, I choose not to eat them on most days!
    xo
    Wendy

  3. Secret Quitter says:

    Yes, I’ve expanded my menu to include some junk food I used to be able to avoid (probably because the junk food and my wine = heartburn, so I just stuck with the wine). Seems like if you stop one thing, the body still needs the fix from somewhere else. I am 100% with you on this, and am working on a plan to curb the sugar, and just live a healthier lifestyle overall. So what can I find to replace sugar that is actually good for me, and I enjoy?? It ain’t carrot sticks!

    Hope you’re finding success in this, and if so, would love to hear what works for you because I need all the help I can get!

    Best wishes.
    SQ

Leave a Reply

