nothing a mini banana split can’t fix

I almost cried on the way home last night – I wanted a drink so badly it hurt.  But, instead I stopped at the grocery store and bought vanilla bean ice cream, bananas, peanuts, hot fudge and whipped cream.   And for dessert, I had a bowl 🙂

Today I FINALLY biked in to work.  Absolutely gorgeous morning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to nothing a mini banana split can’t fix

  1. thirstystill says:

    Sounds yummy! I also find riding my bike makes just about everything better. Sorry you were feeling rough. I still get it too once in a while, the feeling of wanting a drink that badly. Sounds like you dealt with it super well! xo

  2. Good on you! I’m happy you did not drink. 🙂 I wonder why you say you almost cried. I’m thinking it is very much ok to cry. Not so much because you would like to idealise drinking but I think it is very much ok to feel sorry for yourself, as long as you don’t go live there. In my usual un-humble opinion I think it is more healthy to realise that you find something difficult and cry about that than denying yourself to feel what is going on. Denied stuff usually pops up in a different way later, unrecognisable and destructive. So yay for feeling sorry! 🙂
    Nice to bike to work :-), I love that about living in the Netherlands where (almost) the whole country is flat and everybody bikes. 🙂 Enjoy your rides!
    xx, Feeling

    • Debbie says:

      The Netherlands?!? Wow, I bet biking there is amazing. Everyone bikes from what I’ve seen/heard. That’s cool. Thanks for the note. It wasn’t that I did not allow myself to cry. I just had that feeling like I was going to 🙂 But I get your point. It’s good to get it out and not deny it, for sure. {{hugs}}

  3. Oh my goodness, that bowl sounds so naughty but NICE! Well done on riding through the craving. And for the literal (bike) riding. I used to love biking to work. It’s a great start to the day. Love to you.

  4. jmcraig2014 says:

    Awesome, I guess wanting to drink is just part of the challenge. Most good things require work and quitting drinking is definitely s good thing!

  5. Hi Debbie!
    I love riding my bike!
    I also love ice cream.
    I am so glad you didn’t drink!
    xo
    Wendy

  6. ainsobriety says:

    Banana splits cure a lot. Good choice.

Leave a Reply

