a day in my life

I’ve been doing well (besides all the snowfall over the weekend).  The acupuncture “seeds” seemed to help with my extreme cravings. That 4pm witching hour phase.  I haven’t had any “MUST STOP FOR BOOZE” moments.  Yes, I still think about it but generally that’s as far as it goes.

I read something today – I think it was on Facebook and was a comment from someone – she has 34 years of sobriety, something happened and she almost lost it, almost gave in. That to me is unfathomable.  How can you still have a desire/craving after 34 frickin’ years?  What’s really scary is that you CAN.  A total heads up that it can happen to anyone. Not just you in your first week or you in your 10 years.  A.N.Y.O.N.E.  Something to totally keep in mind.  You are never ‘recovered’.

I am currently trying the Blue Apron (delivered food with all ingredients and directions) for dinners.  It’s expensive, but mostly it’s because they FedEx the stuff to me.   I’ve had 2 of the 3 meals so far.  The first wasn’t bad, but I won’t eat it again.  It was a Catfish Po’boy thing.  Not a fan of catfish or aioli for that matter.  Last nights was a pretty good chicken meal with mushrooms, collard greens, an orange (meat as well as zest) and fried rosemary. It was quite tasty. Again trying to find ways to come straight home because I have something I want to eat there.  Unfortunately, two nights a week are messed up because of going to the acupuncturist.  I don’t get dinner before I see him and don’t get home until 8:00-8:15.  But I will continue seeing him.  I think his treatments are working on other issues I’ve been having so don’t want to stop now.

I do have to mention, though, that I went to dinner downtown with some of my Meetup.com girlfriends over the weekend. It was a birthday celebration for 2 of the ladies. A total of 6 showed up which was awesome – more of a chance to interact with everyone. Any way – – – We ALL ordered some type of hot tea with dinner.  No one even talked about alcohol.  It was SO cool. Such a great evening.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a day in my life

  1. furtheron says:

    I had the privilege of listening to a speaker last night who is a few weeks of celebrating 50 years of sobriety. That is just to me as unfathomable now as a year was in my first weeks – but I’m almost a quarter of the way there myself this year. I still feel like a newcomer though at times as whilst a desire to drink hasn’t been really key in me for a long time I know that emotionally if I don’t take care of myself and mentally remind myself regularly that I just can’t drink like normal folks then one day I’ll look at my hand and find a half finished drink there. I know if that happens I’ll have to finish it and probably the next and the next and the next etc. Not a situation I want to find myself in.
    Ordinary drinkers or at least folks with no addictive traits just can’t understand that need for constant vigilance over the problem. “But surely if you’ve not drunk in 12 years you must be cured?” I even had a doctor once say to me that I should change the tense of my saying “I’m a recovering alcoholic” as I was more than 5 years sober. Even the medical folks just don’t understand addiction sadly

    • Debbie says:

      Oh my gosh!! You are amazing! I had no idea you were that far into sobriety. It is sad that so many people (normies) just do not understand. But awareness of alcoholism is beginning to be a big deal. Fingers crossed!

  2. I know I must be vigilant, too.
    As much as I’d love to think I can be “cured”, I know I am one drink away to going back.
    I’d love a dinner out where people don’t drink!
    Now it’s only my hubs and me that don’t drink.
    xo
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

