balance

Yesterday was hard.  I thought A LOT about drinking.  On a scale from 1-10, 10 being really bad, I was probably only at a 6, but being that it’s been so great these past few weeks, it was a slap in the face, a reminder to stay in focus, a reality that I need to never forget.

Today, my imaginary scale is back in balance – am I’m okay with that.  It’s a reminder I can dip low or be high, but I will always find my balance.  (I’m Libra after all.)

scales

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to balance

  1. thenewnewguy says:

    I just took some time to look back over your whole blog. What a story! How amazing that you went for so long without a drink! And then how relatable (to me, at least) that you had a slip. And how fantastic that you found your way back again! Keep moving forward. I find your posts to be helpful and inspiring.

    • Debbie says:

      Well, aren’t you the go-getter! Thanks for reading and I’m so glad that they are helpful. Just knowing we all have screwups but can get back on the horse is inspiration in itself!

  2. Just found your blog. Thank you for blogging through a relapse. It is a great reminder at how easily it can happen. I’m going to put a link to you on my blog, if you don’t mind.

    • Debbie says:

      So glad you found me because now I can enjoy your posts – which are A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. 🙂 You stated my sentiments exactly! Glad to have you on board and congrats on your sobriety.

  3. thirstystill says:

    Glad to hear you’re back in balance now! xo

  4. furtheron says:

    I was talking with someone who works in Alcohol and Substance Misuse. They had a client who was talking about drinking about a bottle of wine a day. Being that this person works on the front line they admitted being judgemental in that instance “Only a bottle a day?” since they regular deal with people drinking copious amounts of strong spirits. But then they realised – “It was too much for this person to handle”. That is the key isn’t it. I drank mostly beer, pretty much exclusively Guinness, and rarely at home pretty much always in a bar/pub. I know I’ve been judged by some in recovery that I “only drank a bit too much in the pub” – but however much or whatever it was doesn’t matter – it was too much for me to handle

    • Debbie says:

      So very true. I drank anything and everything but it’s in knowing you have a problem, no matter the quantity! Thanks for sharing 🙂 It was perfect!

Leave a comment