diet coke and alcohol

It’s been so nice this time around not to even think about what day I’m on.  I have to actually think about it.  How bizarre, right?   It’s been 34 days – OVER a month – 4 weeks, 6 days.  I truly wish I could explain why this time is pink clouds.

I went snowshoeing in Rocky Mountain National Park on Saturday. I went up with a small group of ladies and had a great time.  On the way back, the woman driving had to stop at a convenience store to get a diet Coke.  When she got back in the car, she mentioned how she just can’t go a day without it.  Now, me on the other hand, cannot stand the taste of it plus I try not to put nasty chemicals into my body if possible.  I really have a problem with aspartame – but that’s just me.  Anyhoo, she talked about her addiction to the stuff, and I went on to tell her that just about a month ago, I was drinking a 16 oz Coke a night with Jack (Daniels). The next 45 minutes was spent talking about my alcohol addiction and food addictions in general.  It felt good to talk about it so openly.  She was a great listener 🙂  She also asked what prompted me to start drinking again, and I still don’t have an answer for that one.  It just happened.  I let my guard down I guess.  Just didn’t care any more if I drank or not, I suppose.

I will admit that upon returning to my car to drive home from the snowshoe trip, the desire to stop at a bar, head outside to one of the roof top areas and have a few beers sounded absolutely MARVELOUS. What a great idea, huh?  To kick back after a 4.5 mile snowshoe with a couple of brews?  The desire lasted about 15 minutes.  I went home instead.  Ah, the coveted life of the normal.

group snowshoe 2

Trust that you can do this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to diet coke and alcohol

  1. acquiescent72 says:

    I’m headed to RMNP this week as well and it’ll be my first hike since getting sober. It’s good to see someone else has already laid those tracks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

