a day in the life

I was on Facebook yesterday recounting a story about setting my alarm for the time I needed to LEAVE for an appointment instead of for the time I needed to wake up.  Never done that before, EVER.  (A little scary.)  Would not have made it in time, so had to reschedule.  Nuts

Anyhoo, someone responded, “Could happen to anyone.  Have a glass of wine and chill…” Now I don’t really know this person all that well. I went to high school with him and why I friended him, I’m not sure since we weren’t buds or anything.  But back to my story –

That comment REALLY annoyed me.  It shouldn’t have. He doesn’t know my situation. But being so new on this track of my sobriety, it just pissed me off. I wanted to respond with something rude like, “I’m an alcoholic, dumbass” but I didn’t.   Again, not his fault. If I were more days in or feeling a little more secure about this, I probably would have just laughed it off.

Well, it’s over now and I didn’t write anything I will regret. I wrote, “I would but I don’t drink.” Oh how polite of me.

Yesterday was a bit rougher than the past few weeks have been but pulled it together to make it home safe and sound.

SONY DSC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a day in the life

  1. Its funny how we don’t recognize how common it is for people to suggest drinking as a solution to everything until we quit! You handled it very well. Nice job 🙂

  2. thirstystill says:

    I love the dignified answer. Sorry about the rough day. They happen. You’re doing great though! xo

  3. ainsobriety says:

    I love your response. Perfect.

  4. soberinny says:

    yet another reason why I hate Facebook

  5. jmcraig2014 says:

    It makes you realize how alcohol soaked our culture is.
    Glad you let it go.

  6. Scarlett says:

    I saw that comment, Dee – and I thought “Good for you!” I understand the temptation to light into people who rub you the wrong way, but you took the higher road. Not that I’m surprised. 🙂

Leave a Reply

