on a roll

My how time flies when your face is in a bottle, or should I say how you forget time? Well, either way, week days are just really hard.   But, I feel something finally clicked.  It was subtle, very subtle.  It may not have even been a click.  It could have been a small ‘tick’.  Whatever it was, it made me sit up and take notice.

Maybe I just forgot how hard the first 90 days are and thought it would be cake this time around since I accomplished it before.  Maybe, deep down, I was not ready.  Kind of like smoking.  When I was ready to quit, I gave it no thought.  I just smoked the last in a pack and was done.  Hard, yes.  But I was ready.  That was in June of 1991.

Same feeling now.  I just know it has to happen.  No matter how hard.  Tonight I will probably be in tears heading home dealing with the battle between Ms Crazy a/k/a wolfie, and Ms Sensible.  But straight home I must go.  Not only so I don’t grab a bottle of something or hit my favorite pub, but I have something in the crockpot that I have to get out so it doesn’t over cook.  (yup, I was thinking ahead)

Day one was Thursday the 4th.  Today is day 5.  I have not been to day 5 in a very long time. And tomorrow will be day 6.

I can and I will

namaste

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to on a roll

  1. thirstystill says:

    You can and you will! Good luck facing down the tears tonight. The first days can be tough, but you already know it’s worth it! xo

  2. furtheron says:

    good luck but I like your attitude to it. I remember that transition from work to home as the most dangerous time for me. Keep planning ahead why you have to avoid the places that you need to avoid. Good luck

  3. Day 6 – WOOT WOOT! Best of luck on this journey – you CAN do this! Just keep telling yourself “I am a non drinker now”. No ifs, ands, or buts… Sobriety is sooo worth it.

  4. jmcraig2014 says:

    Hope last night was day 6 for you, the beginning is hard. Smart idea to have something in the crockpot.

  5. Nice work! Have a joy-filled day 6!

  6. You’ve got this Debbie, can’t wait to read about day 6 🙂

  7. noddysober says:

    Well done on 5 sober days!!! That’s awesome. Keep at it, it gets easier! Just hang in there, life gets better and better. Noddy

Leave a Reply

