wish every day was a weekend

Weekends are so much easier for me to not drink. Can’t say why. You’d think it would be the other way around. But during the week, I guess it just becomes a routine to leave work, head to either the LQ or a bar, then go home. I don’t like to cook, so I don’t look forward to making dinner. I don’t have cable or the internet, so not much to “look forward to” – like being able to watch the Walking Dead which I missed last night and heard that there was heartbreak. No spoilers!! But I do fall asleep really quickly 🙂 which is great. And repeat the next day. My evenings are ho hum. I read, I put together puzzles, I crochet but drinking just makes it more . . . enjoyable????? Don’t know the right word for right there.

Over the weekends I’m able to do different things. Go to the store, go shopping at ARC or Goodwill, bike ride, take a walk, do stuff with my Meetup groups, work on the yard, rake leaves!, clean the house, see my grandkids. . . . And that’s exactly what I did this weekend. Friday night I rented a movie (Tomorrowland), Saturday morning I went to a place called Dream Meals where you package 12 ready to cook meals (3 servings each) – hoping this will help with the not wanting to cook thing, Saturday afternoon I went to a Meetup function and painted spice jars for holiday gifts, Saturday evening I “kidnapped” my 1 1/2 year old granddaughter for an overnight, Sunday grandbaby and I overslept! which was wonderful, grocery shopped for fresh veggies, Sunday afternoon went to another Meetup group 5 year anniversary pot luck, Sunday evening did laundry and cleaned, watched some TV (I have an antenna which picks up about 4 channels.) Like you guys really wanted to hear what I did this weekend. But I’m illustrating what I do to stay busy over the weekends. Suffice it to say my week days are boring and I drink to break it up (aka not having to think about it) and my weekends are fun 🙂

I’m on day 4. Haven’t been on day 4 in over a month.

today gift

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to wish every day was a weekend

  1. I Enjoy hearing about your weekend. Tomorrow will be day 5. Keep it up.
    Sharon

  2. Millie says:

    I had to find new/different routines to break the cycle, sometimes it was reading a book in bed with cake,putting myself to bed early, taking a bath, put on face mask whatever I could to distract myself. After a while I like all the self care and my normal routine of drinking after a hards days work didn’t seem so enjoyable anymore. Conrats on day 5

  3. jmcraig2014 says:

    Hi Debbie
    Hope you are hanging in there
    Jean

Leave a Reply

