another year sober – check

I have been super negligent in my sober duties for the past few months.   On one hand, that’s good as I’ve been less focused on ‘thinking about drinking’ and just going about my days.  On the other hand, that’s not so good as I need to be reminded that I am not out of the woods, so to speak, far from it.

I still have days, well – pretty much every day – where I think about stopping for a drink or grabbing a box of wine before heading home.  It’s still a daily struggle.  Just easier.  One of my followers mentioned in her comment to me that she can’t believe she went the whole year of 2014 without a drink.  Me too!  I never thought about it that way.  I went a full calendar year without an alcoholic beverage to numb my thoughts.  Actually pretty exciting stuff there.  January 31st is my 500 day mark.  Super crazy.

I read something from Anne Lamott which struck an odd chord with me.  From her blog she wrote “….the fact that someone like me could have 28 years without alcohol…”   Why must we continue to remind ourselves of our ‘achievement’ when it comes to not drinking? Does this mean that in 28 years I’m going to be thinking that I’ve gone 28 years without a drink?  That’s just insane.  I haven’t smoked a cigarette since June of 1991, but I don’t go around reminding myself of this great achievement.  Like, wow, I’ve gone 23 and a half years without smoking a cigarette. ?#%^)*@&?   It just is what it is.

I want to forget about drinking all together.  Maybe in the next 10 years there will be some kind of break-through product that will numb the desire, make it go away. Fingers crossed.

I miss my blogging family – my own fault.  I need to get back in there and continue to read the awesome posts everyone writes.  It is important for me to continue to be a part of our wonderful sobersphere – to keep in touch.  Late, but new resolution:  Get back to reading the blogs 🙂

And a sober new year to all 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to another year sober – check

  1. Terms of My Surrender says:

    Congratulations! You’ve been fully present in your life for one whole year!

  2. Congrats on the sober time! I don’t think about how many days etc I have been booze free. years, yes, I count. But for the most part, we don’t measure it. There is a certain pride in our length of sobriety I guess, and AL there (I love her, btw) is just making an observation, but I doubt she talks about it all the time…we just get into life as it is!

    Hope to see ya around again 🙂

    Paul

Leave a Reply

