things i do when the going gets rough

Un-frickin’ believable. It’s been almost a month since my last post. I’ve not gone that long without writing since I started this blog! Craziness. It’s not like things are all good and I’m cured or anything. I have the “fuck its” all the damn time but remind myself of all the reasons I don’t want follow through. It seems to work since I still haven’t had a drink. My reasons, you ask? You hoping for a good reason for yourself? Wish I had the magic word to dispel the desire, but alas, I do not. My reasons are the same as everyone else’s and the same as they’ve always been:

1) The momentary “numb” may be great, but I don’t want to wake up feeling crappy. Maybe not hungover, but you know that feeling – headache-y, thirsty, tired
2) I have 400 days under my belt, do I really want to sabotage that?
3) If I have a drink, I know myself too well. I will be back in the thick of it in no time at all and do not want to go through days 1-90 ever again.
4) I change my focus to something I can do right now. Most of the time, the craving hits at witching hour (4pm) so I know that all I have to do is get home and eat.

Just these few reminders help. They don’t take away the desire or the “need” I feel, but they put my brain back in focus. And that’s huge because within 30 minutes or so, I’m okay again – temporarily 🙂

There are still many things I need to do that I haven’t worked on very hard. One of those things is being grateful and thankful each day. Another, is I need to get out of my head sometimes and remember to help others. Those are just 2 but I need to start somewhere, right!!

Namaste

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to things i do when the going gets rough

  1. byebyebeer says:

    Love your numbered points here. So well put, but moreover a great reminder how they just click into place if we just stick with it. Great post!!

  2. greg w says:

    Reblogged this on club east: indianapolis and commented:
    Reality check by the numbers from Dangling on the edge.

  3. e12p says:

    I like the “presence” aspect of #4. I need to personally keep that one in mind – thanks!!

  4. Zero Ounces says:

    Great things to remember – thank you!

  5. Mitzi says:

    Thank you for these tips. I relapsed after 115 days & i’m really struggling to get back on track. I’m collecting as many tips & tools to get back where I was..

  6. jmcraig2014 says:

    Hi Deb, thanks for your post. I just wanted to let you know Thursday is my one year anniversary of not drinking, I never really thought I would make it and I just wanted to thank you, your blog has been part of my sober journey.
    It is a great feeling to be here. But of course there is always the fear of complacency so I guess I will keep on reading blogs and journaling and remembering the reasons not to drink.

    • Debbie says:

      HUGE CONGRATULATIONS!!!! One year is awesome and am so glad I could be a part of your success. I continue to read all the blogs I can because one can never become to complacent!!! Keep on keepin’ on!!! 🙂

  7. Chad says:

    Thank you for your blog….I’m on day 26. Recording my story for the future me @ http://me2point0.blog.com
    I am so thankful for the stories of those who have gone before me.

Leave a Reply

