alcohol consumption causes what?

Just a quickie –

Something I just read on MSN.com under Healthy Living. They listed 9 things that are bad about over consuming alcohol. I picked the 3 that resonated with me:

1) Alcohol consumption is detrimental to any fitness activity, and can affect your body and brain for several days. Having alcohol in your system can slow your recovery and lead to endurance-destroying dehydration. Excessive alcohol consumption can break down the muscles in certain areas—especially your glutes and thighs. I had NO idea it could cause this. No wonder my thighs are like they are. I always wondered. I used to have really muscular thighs and now they are like jello. Well, crap!

2) Alcohol can especially wreak havoc on the female body as women have much less water in their bodies than men do and less of an enzyme that breaks down booze, according to Sam Zakhari, Ph.D., a former director at the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA). That means that after a drink, their organs are exposed to higher levels of alcohol for longer periods of time. Tossing back more than one drink a day can disrupt communication between the brain’s neurotransmitters (which help control everything from thinking to breathing to movement) and trigger depression, anxiety and poor memory in the long term. It can also weaken heart muscles over time, increase female stroke risk by roughly 39 percent, inflame and weaken your liver, deplete your body of vitamin A, weaken your immune system, and boost your risk of breast cancer. Well hells bells.

3) Alcohol also affects the body’s ability to regenerate, meaning it kills useful cells and inhibits your body from repairing damaged ones. While drinking one or two days a week might not be super detrimental, if this habit continues you’ll be losing lots of neurons, AKA botching brain power big time. I always knew that you killed your brain cells, but I was hoping it was minimal and repairable.

Just more reasons not to drink that I can add to my toolbox!

Have a great weekend everyone 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to alcohol consumption causes what?

  1. mary says:

    This is what I don’t like about “I’m sober now” seriously, my doctor could tell me this….you didn’t know all this before? It’s like people who go on a diet saying “oh, sugar is bad”. Yes, we all know this. It’s good you are sober but this is no news to anyone of us, at least not me. Tell us something useful.
    I think 95% of us know drinking too much is bad for us…but what we are looking for is some incentive or experience from someone who has stopped drinking. We all know the facts so tell us what your experience is…not something you have read. Thanks.

    • Debbie says:

      Hi Mary, please feel free to read my other 184 posts. I think most of those contain my experiences for these past 365 days. Hopefully they will provide some incentive for you. Thanks for commenting.

  2. #3 explains why I am such a noodle head these days. I thought it was repairable as well. I am doomed…but sober!!

  3. momma bee says:

    It never really occurred to be how much alcohol is poison to our bodies~ esp women!!! I hope mine is repairable! Great post!

Leave a Reply

