a look into the past

Here I was a year ago today: easy peasy. How crazy is that? I SO remember those days and DO NOT want to be there again. Even though recently I’ve wanted to toss in the towel what feels like a zillion times, and as good as it sounds to have a drink (or 4), the kicking myself and verbal self-abuse would commence loud and clear during and after the drink-fest. It would be SO terribly hard to go through another day 1 again. I really don’t want to have to experience those first 30, 60 or even 90 days ever again. Those were grueling, white-knuckle days. I keep reminding myself of why I don’t want to ever drink again. I may be at a year, but I’m still feeling the pull.

My big 1 year soberversary is just a couple weeks away. I plan to write a bit about what this year has been like and what I’ve learned. The good, the bad and the ugly 🙂 This is in hopes of keeping myself on track and building back up my toolbox nice and strong!

stay sober y’all!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a look into the past

  1. jmcraig2014 says:

    Debbie, I looked at your old post. Thinking about going back to the guilt and shame of drinking is something that keeps me away. I still get urges, but they pass quickly and I immediately stop and say to myself I am not going there, I am moving forward not backwards and drinking would be moving backwards for me.
    I am pretty certain at this point that I am not going to go to AA. I am happy with my progress with not drinking, I feel better, my face looks better. I would like to lose 10 pounds but don’t know if I can do it.
    Looking forward to your one year post!

  2. Lisa Neumann says:

    There are days when the only reason I don’t drink is because I can never go back to a day one. Keep up the good work. Very inspiring. Lisa

Leave a Reply

