i want a drink

It’s been a few days. Having some real chatter as of late. Must be cyclical. I’ve really been craving a drink this past week. Any kind of drink. And lots of it. Yes, the cravings are few and farther between, but it doesn’t make them any easier to take.

I spent a great 3 1/2 days with my son, his wife and my grand daughter. I hadn’t seen them since January, so it was good to reconnect. My grand daughter and I had lots of fun reading, going to the park and playing with her toys. I headed back home on Saturday evening. The flight home was on a smaller twin propeller-type plane. It took longer than normal, was a bit bumpy and noisy – well, just loud. I landed as scheduled and got to my car in the parking spot. On the drive home – 6:00pm – I was thinking how it would be really nice to wind down and relax with a bottle of wine. It was very compelling, very convincing and very much in my head. I thought about stopping all the way home. Instead, I bought some fast food for dinner. This was NOT as easy as I made it sound. I REALLY wanted to stop.

I don’t feel much better today, but it is one day at a time, and I’m just trying to make it through Sunday. If it really is cyclical, then soon I will be back to ‘normal’ cravings! lol

Namaste 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to i want a drink

  1. Off-Dry says:

    IMO, just having the presence of mind while in the midst of a craving to know that it’s cyclical and won’t last forever is a success story! Think of all the times in your past when you wouldn’t have been able to see that far beyond the moment. You’re doing great. 🙂 Kristi

  2. Thoughts are facts…I found that those cravings went away after a while. The more I fed energy into them, the more power i gave them.

    Hope things settle down for you 🙂

  3. jmcraig2014 says:

    Debbie,
    Hope the cravings subside quickly, it is interesting how the cravings can almost disappear and then come out of nowhere and really hit hard. I guess that is why even after long periods of sobriety, people have relapses. I guess as time goes on, you can easily become less vigilant.
    I had an interesting weekend, I was at a friends for dinner and she asked me when it would be a year, I told her the date. The first thing her husband said was good, we’ll go out the next day and celebrate with some drinks. At first I got offended but then realized that people who drink too much feel uncomfortable when one of their tribe quits. I was going to go into a whole explanation of how much better I feel and how my sleeping has improved, etc, but I am finally getting a little wiser, so I just smiled.
    Anyway, I hope that as time goes on your life improves. I am feeling lately that the longer away from alcohol the better. As much as I would love to drink some white wine when I get home from work, I just know it wouldn’t end with drinking 2 glasses on Friday and Saturday, it would just ramp, so I just have to stay away from that first sip.

  4. Running From the Booze says:

    Very succinct Paul. I hope you’re feeling better today Debbie.

  5. momma bee says:

    Debbie~ i can understand how you had to talk yourself out of it~ i hope the cravings are passed by now. Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

