day 300

Wow. 300 days with no alcohol consumption. Pretty darn amazing. It can be done.

My one year, September 18th, is right around the corner. I see no reason today why I won’t be singing my own praises come the big day. I’m on a roll now with the momentum I need to keep me going. Like with cigarettes, a day will come when I won’t be able to imagine myself with a drink in my hand. My only thought will be “how come it took me so long to quit?”

Peace πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to day 300

  1. jmcraig2014 says:

    Debbie, that is great, congratulations! I am about 6 weeks behind you. A year is really an accomplishment. You seem like you are really hitting your stride!
    This weekend was tough, that sinister voice was really trying to talk me into the reasons that I should just pack it in, have a few drinks and relax. Luckily though I read on someone’s blog that there are no regrets the morning after an alcohol free night. So I put a smile on my face and went to a 50th birthday at a bar. It was really ok, even fun. The morning after the party was wonderful!
    Jean

  2. clearlee says:

    Awesome!! Must be an amazing feeling. I can only imagine :))
    I sometimes think about quitting drinking to quitting smoking, and today I actually had the thought that tasting alcohol again would be nasty. Similar to how I know taking a drag would just be disgusting at this point.
    Funny how the dried out brain starts to see things differently.

    • Debbie says:

      Ah, you will know that feeling soon enough! Hang in there πŸ™‚ I think the same about martini’s (tasting nasty.) How in the hell did I ever drink those? It was like lighter fluid in a chilled glass! LOL And I thought it tasted good!

  3. furtheron says:

    Pretty amazing indeed… well done… here’s hoping that the year will tick by without any issues. Funny I stopped smoking in my early 20s, about 30 years ago. For the next 20 years most of my dreams had me smoking, there I was ciggy in hand or drooping from my lips. Then I stopped drinking… I don’t believe I’ve ever dreamt of me smoking ever since!…. Bizarre!

  4. Congrats Debbie! That’s fantastic!

    And hey, sing away!

  5. emilyprosemary says:

    Congrats! I am just beginning my own journey of sobriety and started blogging about it and reading others’ blogs for (MUCH-NEEDED) inspiration. Thank you for blogging and sharing your story! Woohoo! πŸ™‚

  6. Dustin John says:

    Great job Debbie! 300! That is a lot of money saved, a lot of hangover-free mornings, a lot of productive days, a lot of clean thoughts, and one great movie title! Keep it up! πŸ˜‰

  7. thirstystill says:

    Congratulations! That’s a lot of sober days! Thanks for being an inspiration. xo

  8. momma bee says:

    So proud of you! Can’t wait to be where u are~ also not to think about drinking! One day!

    • Debbie says:

      Truly, thinking about drinking is SO time consuming AND frustrating (to say the least!) But yes, it does happen where the thoughts become less and less πŸ™‚ Hang in there!!

Leave a Reply

