still here, still kickin’

It’s Friday, the end of February. Wow, another month down 🙂 18 more days until I reach the 6 month sober mark. How crazy is that?

As I read other posts, they bring me back to my day 1’s and my day 30’s and my day 60. It’s a good reminder, it really is. This is hard stuff we are dealing with, and I never want to forget what those early (early) days felt like because I never want to see them again. And when a few days go by where I hardly think about drinking (now don’t get that confused with “don’t think about drinking” because I still do, daily), it’s easy to think we are ‘cured.’ We know damn well we are not and never will be. We know NOT to get complacent and reading posts of early sobriety keep me focused. They remind me of where I do not want to be.

I am so very grateful for each new day because each one puts me that much farther away from day 1. I can’t definitely say “yes, I feel so much better” or anything like that. My energy levels are about the same. Now, my desire to do stuff is more, that’s for sure. I have so much more time on my hands where I can actually get stuff done. For the first time since I can remember, I clean the kitchen after dinner instead of leaving the dishes for, oh, I don’t know – the weekend!! LOL Of course, I am exercising (in training for my half marathon) which I would not be doing if I was drinking. I read many posts where they speak of how much different they feel or how much better they feel. Maybe I’m just not there yet?

Well, no matter. I’m not drinking and that’s enough for right now. It’s still one day at a time and that’s fine with me. Seems to be working 🙂

Have a wonderful weekend all. If you would like someone to chat with, feel free to email me at danglingdebb@gmail.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to still here, still kickin’

  1. One day at a time is absolutely right. 6 Months is an amazing accomplishment.

  2. amazing. you give me hope that i was lacking in my latest post. “one day at a time” I must remember that.

    Thank you and congrats on day 90!

  3. Lilly says:

    Sooooo cool! Glitter balls! unicorns! I noticed a shift around six months but then stupidly drank again at 7 and now sturuggling, as you know. So much better to keep going. You are MY hero. Xx

    • Debbie says:

      Hi Lilly, How have you been? I haven’t seen a post recently. Thanks for the positive words of praise. Can’t get enough of those, right? xoxo

      • Lilly says:

        Thanks Deb. I haven’t been doing fabulously but am trying to get back on track… again. *Sighs* Will post soon. xx

  4. furtheron says:

    Congrats on nearing the 6 months. I was still in the in-my-head-constantly-banging-on mode at that time. It was a while later when it started to quieten down. I’m less than 3 months away from 10 years – if you’d have said that to me at 6 months I’d have laughed outright into your face – I mean there was no way I could think of 10 years. But I’m here. I still think about drink everyday but in the context of “I’m an alcoholic, what can I do about that today” – not drink for a start, stay mentally, emotionally and spiritually healthy and do something to help other alcoholics get or stay sober.

    Keep putting one foot in front of the other on your trudge on the “road to happy destiny” and your 6 months will turn to years to decades of sobriety. What an inspiration to hear of someone making that walk.

Leave a Reply

