just a spoonful of sugar

Now that I’m back to eating un-Godly amounts of chocolate and sweets, my cravings for alcohol have minimized. I must say that was scary. I was telling my sister last night how it wasn’t like I just wanted a drink, I wanted lots and lots of drinks. It wasn’t an “oh, you can surely have just a glass of wine/martini/beer.” It was an all out “go drink the bar dry” feeling. I fortunately haven’t had that chatter for about a week. The things we deal with, huh?

My half marathon training is helping to keep me focused in the evenings since I go to the gym 2-3 times a week. On the weekend, I get in long(er) runs. I would not have the wherewithal to even attempt it if I had been drinking the night before. So, kudos to me.

Yes, it appears to be getting just a little easier every day. My guard is up and knows what to watch out for, and I no longer think about drinking 24/7. That in itself is a blessing.

Peace 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to just a spoonful of sugar

  1. Wishing you more peace each day. Eat the sugar if it helps! xx

  2. When I drank I never ate candy. 87 days sober and a handful of dark chocolate M&Ms every night seems to quite the alcoholic terrorists that occupy my brain. Whatever works.

  3. nowine4me says:

    Glad the cravings have passed! Running helped me get past a few hard days too. Good luck on your training!! Awesome for you! – Heather

    • Debbie says:

      Thanks, Heather. Running is certainly not the most fun thing I’ve ever done, but it gives me a project or a goal or a reason to get out and exercise. I am SO glad that last bought of cravings have passed. That was miserable! oxox

  4. The sugar in chocolate is far better for your state of mind than the sugar in the booze! And think that you’re running it all off anyway, so big props to you… The cravings will pass as your body gets healthier and healthier. Congrats on the 155 days – that’s fantastic!

    • Debbie says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words. And you are so right!! I’m looking forward to become even more healthy 🙂 Thanks again for commenting. It means the world to me. D

  5. AH! the chocolate and sweet cravings – what on earth! I am on the same page! I NEVER eat sweets and since stopping drinking (im on day 9). I was hoping to lose weight with not drinking and that surely is not happening with all the sweets i am consuming hahahahaha. But i have the same mind set “i cant just have one”. I look forward to reading your blog and following your story – Congratulations on day 155!!!!

Leave a Reply

