102 days

Well, my “100 days of sobriety” has come and gone. Now, I’m part of Team 180 and really hope that at 180 days I feel as though I have this addiction thing totally under my control. I still think about and want to drink daily. I push down the urges and life goes on. But, I want to get where I no longer have to fight this. I don’t mind thinking about drinking. But it’s a daily struggle not to drink – still. It sucks. I’ve got my fingers crossed that it really does get easier into the 110 and 120 day period.

I guess the good thing is that the holidays are almost over. One more biggie (New Year’s eve) and then we are into the new year with our newest resolutions. I don’t have any. Actually, I do, but I’m not going to put them down on a list. They will just be hanging there in space, and when I’m ready I’ll consider them ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m still too new with the sober stuff. My sole focus will is on not drinking until I no longer need 100% of my energies to do so.

The things I am grateful for since I quit drinking 102 days ago:

1. No 3am hot flashes and bathroom runs for a huge glass of water and acetaminophen.

2. No hangovers to interfere with me waking up and getting to work on time.

3. Ability to read any time I want and remember what I read.

4. No more schedule management, i.e. planning my day around buying/drinking booze.

5. More money to spend on other irrelevant stuff.

All in all, a good 102 days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 102 days

  1. mels journey says:

    Congrats! You are amazing. New Years resolution…. Keep doing what you are doing and keep being an inspiration.

  2. Lilly says:

    YAY!!! Congratulations!!! That’s awesome. And know that if you get a bit of post-100 anti-climax and questioning it’s entirely normal and it will pass. Just hang on to cherishing those benefits.

    Happy almost new years!

  3. Happy 100 days! Congratulations. I think it will get easier if you keep going! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Running From the Booze says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I thought you were there… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    So happy for you, congratulations.

    You worked hard for this. Enjoy.

  6. Jean says:

    Congrats on 100 days, I am looking forward to getting there. I can definitely relate to not missing waking up with hot flashes and let me add a pounding heart and having to drink water and worry about the next day. And also to reading and remembering what I read. I hope your road to 180 is much easier.
    I have had a few times where I really wanted to drink, luckily they passed and I didn’t drink. One of my friends has been giving me a really hard time, he has even gone as far as saying that he would spike my drink, believe it or not, it is making me feel stronger since he will be at the same New Years party, I know I will not drink. Also, I know he will not be touching anything that I drink.
    Anyway, congratulations for sticking with it able Happy New Years!

    • Debbie says:

      I hope your new years party went well! And congrats to you too. You are very strong! Keep it up ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m feeling better this week. The pull has been minimal, so my fingers are crossed! Thanks for commenting.

  7. Lirpa says:

    Congrats!! I just read your blog. I am on day 17 of the 100 day challenge and feeling good. Happy New Year!

  8. byebyebeer says:

    One day you will look back and notice it all feels a little easier. When that time comes is different for everyone, but make no mistake, it will come. Every day is practice and getting stronger and the path isn’t always linear. Milestones always break me up a little, but then I feel stronger when I’m safely past each one. I just read something I wrote at 8 months, when I was all sore about having to go out and be around drinkers. I was surprised I felt that way at 8 months, but truth is the daily obsession had passed by then and it was more of a passing want that still happens from time to time. Every day I don’t drink builds a sense of pride and love I feel for sobriety and this community. It happened gradually over time and feels stronger and deeper.Congratulations on your 100+ days. You’re a source of hope to many others.

    • Debbie says:

      Thanks for the words of encouragement. They were needed! I do feel better today ๐Ÿ™‚ It really is a roller coaster. You’ve been with me from the first and I have always looked to you for inspiration. Have a wonderful New Year.

Leave a Reply

