note to self

3 weeks and 2 days left to go to reach my 100 day mark. December 27, 2014. It’s been a long haul and I seriously could not have done it without Paul, Belle, Lilly, Fern, Carrie, Ellen, Kristin, Jamie, Christy, Christine, Kate and the list goes on and on . . . Reading everyone’s stories and finding out that I CAN pull out of my funk is life saving. Truly. Getting to read then re-read something that I find inspirational is awesome. Going to a meeting and hearing people talk about what they’ve done to survive this struggle just doesn’t resonate with me. To me it just sounds like they want to one-up everyone or they are so upbeat and smiley that I want to smack them. Must be my attitude.

Most recently, reading Paul’s The Pity Patter of Little Defeats really hit home. As always, his words strike a chord with me. They make me look more deeply at myself and for that I am grateful. Keep ’em coming, Paul!

I certainly don’t feel like I did days 1 through 21 but am still having white knuckle moments. And I attribute that to being too ‘into me’ right now. I have to get out of myself. I sound like a broken record – think I said that same thing in the last post 😦 Note to self: Read my posts, I might learn something 🙂

heart wood

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to note to self

  1. Lisa Neumann says:

    I am often shocked at how much I continue to learn on a daily basis. So great to watch you all succeeding. And learning to live life on life’s terms. It keeps me inspired and hopeful.

  2. You have come so far, you just can’t see it yet! Something big shifts at 90 days, then again and again. At this point you will become more naturally comfortable with your sobriety, without the huge constant effort. Don’t rush to feel like everyone else, just be you, without the booze, sober, that’s all that really matters. What an awesome day to celebrate 100 days, hangover free at Christmas!

  3. We all don’t “graduate” in any formal sense of the word. I get “into me” way much more than I need to or should…lol. It’s just about balance, being aware, being connected, reaching out and helping others…for me. You writing here, you sharing your journey – you’re both reaching out and helping others. You are connecting and being aware. You are helping yourself and helping others (even if they don’t comment – lots of lurkers out there!)

    Like Lisa said, it’s inspiring to watch this…it never gets tired 🙂

    Blessings,
    Paul

    P.S Thanks for the shout out…it’s nice to be a part of something out here 🙂

  4. Lilly says:

    Hurrah!!! Well done you and like Carrie said, what better time of year to give yourself a huge gift. You HAVE come so far and it will just keep getting better. Now hope you’ve got a great 100 day treat planned ’cause it’s right around the corner… 🙂

  5. FitFatFood says:

    So exciting! Well done you!

  6. Debbie says:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

