my tool box

th
Tools

..Protein bars in drawer at work for those days when the witching hour hits
..Remember how crappy I feel when I wake up “after” – Am I willing to feel like that tomorrow for the buzz tonight?
..Pick up and read a self-help book or sober posts
..Comment on those posts so it puts me ‘in the moment’ and supports others
..Reward myself
..Look where I’ve come from and where I am know – Do I really want to go back there?
..Day 1 SUCKS
..Water – drink lots of water
..Exercise (not often achieved but I put it out there anyway) – I have a 5k, 10K and half coming up, do I really want to drink now?
..Just get my ass home
..EAT (not snacks)
..Get out of my head – Stop with the ‘me’ ‘me’ ‘me’ by being of help to others
..Re-adjust focus/change the subject matter
..Remember, the craving doesn’t last forever
..HALT

So far, this seems to be my go-to list. Things have been added and removed, refined. Things will continue to be added and removed, refined 🙂

HALT is on there as well. It should probably go first. Hunger I think is my biggie. Tired and Lonely are a tie. I seldom get angry and don’t succumb to drink when I do. So I’m more concerned with HLT 🙂 It’s helpful to know what your ‘state’ is so you know how to remedy the situation.

So, please share! What’s on your list?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to my tool box

  1. Jean says:

    My tool box contains seltzer and lemonade, journaling ( which don’t do as much as I would like to) yoga or a walk. But what helps the most is reading blogs and waking up and seeing my clear eyes.

    • Debbie says:

      Those are great. Thanks, Jean. I don’t journal much any more either. I did the first couple go rounds, but this time I think I’ve only journaled once. I need a drink of choice. So far it’s only been rootbeer but would prefer something else. Seltzer and lemonade sounds yummy! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’m trying to get through the emotions. All the reasons I drank before, I was happy or sad or mad, i’d drink. Now those feelings are intensified. hobbies are helping, teaching my self to crochet, I make crayon meltings, anything to keep my mind off of it

  3. FitFatFood says:

    I did a post about this on Sunday, but it’s interesting that mine was all about thoughts and reasons I’ve fallen off before, and recognising those signs rather than solid tools.

    This has inspired me to write my list of tools again to refer to, so thank you 🙂

  4. sureasimbreathingnoceiling says:

    I just wrote a post about this. I forgot to put sparkling water on it, though. 🙂

    Here’s the excerpt:

    Here are 20 things I have either done, or that have been suggested to me to do, to ‘take a break’, which I really needed the other day:
    1.Bath + candles + zen out
    2.Exercise strenuously or in any way
    3.Cook
    4.Clean
    5.Listen to podcasts
    6.Netflix binge
    7.Hang out alone in public
    8.Hang out with friends
    9.Call friends
    10.Call family
    11.Sleep
    12.Get down with my crafty self and create
    13.Write a letter to myself explaining what is going on and how awesome I am and how hard this is, but look at all the awesomeness
    14.Get a therapist
    15.Randomly write another sober blogger
    16.Just fucking cry
    17.Have sexy times
    18.Get in my car, drive to an empty parking lot/the boonies/anywhere without people so no one thinks I’m being murdered/am murdering someone when I scream my rage
    19.Cuddle/play with my dog
    20.Blog it out

Leave a Reply

