“celebrate, celebrate, dance to the music. . .”

Well, my “big day” has come and gone. I am now officially 57. Actually had a really wonderful day. I have lots of reasons the day was great. Here are 2:

BD Breakfast]

and

pumpkin painting cropped

Saturday, Connor (the oldest grandkid) made me a duck taped bag that perfectly holds my Nook. Very cute. Sunday started early with a 5k run at 7:00am downtown. I did pretty well considering I did nothing to prepare. The reward was a cup of delicious hot chocolate, chocolate fondue with marshmellows, a rice krispy treat and a banana! At 9:30am it was off to breakfast with Steven, Ronni, Connor and Foster. The boys are such good kids. At 1:00pm that afternoon, my daughter, Ronni, and I went to a paint class, and for 1 and 1/2 hours we painted 🙂 The rest of the day I read and just hung out. It was a beautiful fall day. Blue skys and temps in the 60’s. Gotta love it! To end the day, I received lots of phone calls from friends to wish me well.

AND I DID IT ALL HANGOVER FREE AND SOBER 🙂

When I look back at other birthdays, I’m pretty sure I drank at every one. Who doesn’t drink on their birthday? One biggie I remember was my 18th. I partied in El Paso, TX and Juarez. El Paso’s legal age was 18 at the time, and in Juarez, I don’t think it mattered! Most of my birthday celebrations have been quiet affairs. I do remember my 40th (I think it was.) I wanted to celebrate by watching the sun rise on a mountain top in New Mexico (Sunspot). I went the night before to stay at a motel so that I would have time to drive up early enough to greet the day. Well, that didn’t happen. Met a couple of guys at the local tavern, and we decided to drink the night away. I got back to the motel room probably around 11pm and set the alarm. When it went off, there was no way in hell I was going to be able to get up much less drive to the top in time to enjoy the view. Aw well, moments lost because of booze. Can’t cry over spilled milk. It’s done.

The last 5 years or so have been pretty low key celebrations. Mostly I would take myself to dinner and finish celebrating at home with whatever alcohol struck my fancy. Celebrating my day, all alone. Drowning in my sorrows. Boo hoo

This time around, I made sure there were things happening. Fun things that made me feel good about being here another year.

It’s the little things.

Peace

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

