the most important meal of the day

For the past 2 weeks I’ve been trying to include more vegetables and fruits into my diet. Truth be told, I am not a breakfast person. Back in high school, my breakfast was about 2 gulps of Carnation Instant Breakfast, and my mom would leave it on my dresser with a multi-vitamin. You always hear how a good breakfast is so important for you. Try as I might, I just can’t get up and eat first thing in the morning. My breakfast is generally around 10:30am, and I have a banana.

All that being said, I have recently started drinking a smoothie, of my own making, before I head out the door for work in the mornings. It consists of a healthy-sized cup of spinach, 3 mini carrots, 3 broccoli things(!), 1/4 apple, blueberries, 3 strawberries, banana, 1/2 cup of Silks new fruit drink and 1/2 cup nonfat vanilla yogurt. SHEWWEE It generally fills a 12oz glass (all the way to the top). I just blend it in the blender instead of juicing it.

With this ‘breakfast’, I am sure to get at least 1/2 the servings I need in my daily requirement. Then at lunch, my doctor’s have recommended I take vit D, B-12 and calcium. Up to this point, I’ve been diligent about taking these. I think I may be the worse pill taker in the world. For some reason, REMEMBERING to take pills is seriously difficult for me.

Don’t know if I’ve noticed a difference, but damn I’m hungry at about 11:15am. My stomach is growling and everything! What’s odd is when I eat my Marie Calendars or whichever frozen meal I’ve chosen to microwave that day, I am full before I finish it. Usually I finish it and am looking for more. Of course, I’m hungry again at about 3:30pm/4:00pm and grab a bag of something bad for me. hahaha Oh well.

If nothing else, I feel good about getting more veggies into my system 🙂 And, too, having some sort of breakfast.
smoothie2

Cheers all and have a great day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

