i’sall good

When first taking the plunge, it’s all about me, me, me. And that’s okay. It should be. I am trying to get my life back, and I’m focused on what I need to do to make that happen. Once I get to feeling better about me, it moves on to my becoming more aware and accepting of my higher power, my Powers That Be, my brother. Getting and being open to help during those times when I think I just can’t do it any longer. From there, it’s about getting out of myself.

Currently, I’m working on me AND getting in touch with the PTB. I’m keeping faith that they are guiding me and helping me through my good and bad hours. It’s truly a trust issue, knowing I cannot do this on my own and accept, willingly, the intervention. Being grateful daily for their involvement and their love, and trusting them with my life.

I read Sober Grace’s post about humility, and it struck a cord and got me thinking. To me, being humble is doing what I know is right and not expecting rewards or recognition for my act. So, next up for me will include becoming a part of the ‘world’, however small that world may be. Getting involved in the human race, helping where help is needed. This will be my “getting out of myself” portion of the program 🙂 Now, I am not making this my life’s ambition – I don’t want to become the next Mother Teresa or anything – but being more aware of what is happening around me and seeing where I can make a difference. Even on a small scale.

It’s a brand new world out there for me. Today I’m up for the challenge, because all I can do is focus on today – the now. And right now, it’s all good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to i’sall good

  1. jamilynaz says:

    I love your definition of humility, it’s so true. I often have to check my motivation for doing something and, unfortunately, a lot of the time it’s for rewards or recognition, even when I don’t consciously know it. I’m a work in progress.
    I agree that getting sober has to be a selfish endeavor. You have to take care of yourself and do whatever it takes to keep from picking up. For me, it has meant learning to say no, and doing the things that really feed my soul. Sometimes just a bubble bath can redeem a difficult day. The thing that I have to remember, like you said, is that just because I am looking out for me, it doesn’t mean that I’m the one running the show. And sometimes that’s really hard.
    Thanks for a great post.
    ~Jami

Leave a Reply

