the problem pile

My best friend sent me an email the other day. It was about a woman, Regina Brett (90 years old), from Cleveland, Ohio. She wrote a list of 45 lessons that life has taught her. They were all pretty good, but the one that stands out is this one:

“If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back.”

Isn’t that the truth? We think our problems are the worst, then we see what someone else has been going through and decide, hm, maybe my life isn’t so bad after all! It’s the “walk a mile in someone else’s shoes” thing. Thinking about the possibility of pulling someone else’s problems out of that pile and not my own? Scary prospect. The quote just opened my eyes to the fact that my life is pretty damn good; even with all the hardships I’ve experienced. And, any struggles are MY struggles.

In the grand scheme of things, I have wonderful sisters who stand by me no matter what, I have two of the best kids ever, 3 healthy and happy grandkids, a job, a roof over my head, a car that runs, money in the bank (albeit, only a small sum), and the ability to walk, talk, hear, feel, see and smell all the good things that life has to offer. How could I not be grateful? Yes, I have my problems, but I would not trade them for anyone else’s. (Could you?) You could say they are a part of what makes me, me.

Day (T-78)
i'm%20sorry

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the problem pile

  1. Pingback: “my problems are bigger than yours”………. “nuh uh, mine are bigger” | Dangling on the edge

Leave a Reply

