bring it on…..

RunningI’ve read a number of blogs these past few days. All of them, of course, involve addiction of one sort or another, and all are about beating it. Sobriety. It truly is inspiring to have so many people sharing. Reading those posts where people are on day 10 or 30 or 60 or nearing 100. It gives me hope. I read about their demons, about what is hardest for them. I read about their “switch” and how they cope (or don’t cope) with it. It’s like sitting in the circle at AA and everyone is sharing, but it’s better. I feel more comfortable with everyone out there in cyberspace. And I know I’m not alone.

Right now I would like to thank Alcoholic or Not for talking about the 100 day challenge in her blog. Because that turned me on to Tired of Thinking about Drinking. Besides creating her challenge, her posts are wonderful, and I aspire to be as strong as she. So, I signed up for her 100 day challenge. The last time I went 100 days without drinking I believe I was pregnant with my daughter in 1984/85. And then it was more like a year. My longest dry spell since 1985 was 20 days last May (2012). I must dig deep. Muster all the strength, energy, faith, will power and anything else I can think of to get through this May sober. Right now 100 days is unimaginable. Beyond my comprehension. Seemingly unattainable. But it can be done – – – By getting through today and only today and dealing with tomorrow, tomorrow.

At 100 days sober, that puts me at August 7th. For now, though, I am getting through April 30th. I will think about August 7th, when I get to August 6th!!

Day 2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to bring it on…..

  1. Hi! I m so glad you signed up! It s crazy the power of this sober blogging is doing to me. Writing every single night : SOBER is like a little achievement every day. Reading all those stories and writing, gives me strength.NO you are not alone, we are all here to find our way and we will. I am sure you will be able to make it. I do believe. Just continue sharing and writing. May is going to be a good month! xxooxx

    • Debbie says:

      I hope to follow in your footsteps! Your comments and posts are SO what I need right now. Please keep it up.

Leave a Reply

