getting motivated

224869_10150910201002991_2118076563_nI ran my last half marathon in September of 2011. I took 2012 off from running to drink. Nothing like a motivation buzz kill. My intentions were good, but I just couldn’t bring myself to get inspired enough to get out there. I’m thinking it was the alcohol. 🙂 I live in a gorgeous state with mountains, trails and great weather, and I let the whole year just go by without me. I am not going to let that happen to 2013.

I signed up for a half in July. I’ve been slowly working on getting back in to shape. Key word is slowly – thank goodness I have a personal trainer. But now that I have a focus and hopefully can remain positive and driven (and of course, sober), it will become more frequent. I’m much better at getting to the gym and getting on a trail when I don’t wake up hungover. Of course, that may be just me…..NOT

I have on my calendar all the 5Ks, 10Ks and halfs that I would like to do. I also have all the hikes I plan to attend (I’m part of a group) there too. I am trying to stay dedicated to all the good things I am doing for myself while being active. Guess that’s one way to avoid the “I don’t have anything to do, guess I’ll go to the LQ” syndrome.

My PT had to cancel on me last night. He’s a fire fighter and had to go into work. So, to combat that urge to point my car in the direction of a liquor store, I went home, changed into running gear, and headed out the door. I had a zillion excuses (i.e. no trail, don’t want to run on or have to cross a busy street, don’t want to run at the gym, I’m hungry, I’m already home. . . ) and did not pay attention to any of them. I just ignored them all knowing that the sun was still up and the temperature was a beautiful 70 degrees. Felt really good. Yay me

Day 3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to getting motivated

  1. Ani Danelz says:

    Good for you! I hope that you will stick with your path on getting healthy and good luck with your half in July. Where are you running it?

  2. Ann Marquez says:

    How bout the Vegas half this year ??? 😉

Leave a Reply

